Check up

My personal projects are moving slowly forward. There’s the video that I haven’t presented yet but that is done and I’m working on a installation piece for it to be shown in a gallery in June. But the installation is turning into a sculpture in it self so I’ll see if it becomes to different pieces or one. It is an old easel stand and I’m carving in it, changing its shape, with the only aim to “put love into it” and practice intuitively. I keep asking myself “what does this object want from me” and I’ve been thinking about the notion of objects having souls as an ancient way of looking at stuff and nature and balancing the spiritual and material side of being a human. I really enjoy this practice.

Then there is a few videos of movement that I don’t really know how to move forward with. It started as an idea of making a “screen saver”. Never ending movement that is fluid by spontaneously creating it with my own body and then edit it to look attractive. Like the old mac screen savers I used to watch in my parents office when I was a kid. When working on this visually, I started using the “chakras” because I’m interested in eastern ancient knowledge and how its used as individualistic self help in the western world today.

Sequence 07.00_03_08_18.Still001

Sequence 08.00_01_16_23.Still002

I’m also keeping a video diary that I want to keep up as long as possible and put together. It’s about “challenges” and having a masochist character. Seeking escape from freedom and finding structure in individualist society.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Except for this I work on two collaborative projects. One is an immersive play that me and another student are developing and that will be presented in a theatre nearby. We call it “Whiteboard” and it’s about the personal connections made within structured events and courses and how the context of this meeting space becomes like a holy space in the sense that the spell is broken when the participants leave the room. We are aiming for this to be presented in early June.

The other project is an investigative Sophie Calle:ish project that I do together with a graphic design student. We are going into clothing chain stores and ask the sales assistant to help us find the right outfit for a certain occasion, like a job interview or a wedding party. The idea is to create an archive of these different interpretations. Shopping is central in our culture and shops take up most of the space in the city. Technically, most shopping could be done online. The shopping becomes more of an experience. A reason to go out, a reason to exchange friendly words with strangers. By going out and asking for help in shops I fill the purpose of the salesperson’s job, I believe (from the experience of working in shops myself) that I make the salesperson’s job a little more satisfying even if I don’t buy anything. A salesperson’s job can be so empty and ironically enough it reminds of a planned economy where people do work “just because”. Also, me and my friend represent the target group or the ideal client, we are white, young, good looking, educated, slender people. In order to play this game we need this human capital. We are in other words playing out our privileges fully and exploring them instead of backing away and denying them.

Leave a Reply

