Feedback session

The highlight of my second week at the academy was a lesson we had on Friday. Master student Quinsy Gario was there and students got feedback on their ongoing projects, by him, the teacher and each other. It was good. I showed some video/painting material I have been experimenting with. I want to paint the compositions I can make with my body in front of my webcam live onto a video in real time as I can do in my phone apps. Until I find a way (I will get an appointment with a teacher about after effects after the break) I use Premier and figured out some good ways to fade in and out paint that I do in Photoshop.

I expressed my willingness to bring in the body into my practice and also in people’s lives and I got the suggestion to work with live performance and engaging people, like giving instructions. Which is funny because this is what I’ve been onto for a while and should be doing more focused.

I’m inspired by Erwin Wurm’s instruction pieces and relationship with photography. I’m also thinking about Miranda July’s work Learning to Love You More.

Screen Shot 2017-02-09 at 12.46.44.png

Leave a Reply

